Function formula box size

Post your feature requests/wishlist here

Moderators: davidv, seb@plogue

CinningBao
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Capital City - UK
Contact:

Function formula box size

Postby CinningBao » Wed Jan 04, 2017 1:46 pm

This probably isn't a biggie, but it might get annoying for those who are creating looong functions..

The fixed size of the box is a bit small, even for the 'smooth' recursive function seb posted a while ago (thanks for that)

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 18.42.10.png
Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 18.42.10.png (50.73 KiB) Viewed 245 times


Any chance it can be resizable?

cheers! :)

Kewl
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Function formula box size

Postby Kewl » Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:10 pm

+1

dts350z
Posts: 1466
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Function formula box size

Postby dts350z » Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:25 pm

maybe text box GUI instead of the existing?

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9383
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Function formula box size

Postby seb@plogue » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:27 am

maybe text box GUI instead of the existing?


If enter is used to start a new line, it then can't be used to tell the control that the input is
finished and the new function should be evaluated like it currently is with the single-line control.
On OS X, it seems to autowrap to a new line if the control is made to be "taller", however that
doesn't work on Windows as the built-in edit control has nothing about wrapping if not using
the multi-line variant.

CinningBao
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Capital City - UK
Contact:

Re: Function formula box size

Postby CinningBao » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:58 am

this is probably a very cheap way round, but couldn't you just parse out and ignore all the carriage returns on both OSs?

Multi-line expressions on win could still be constructed (with returns for ease of viewing) and it wouldn't matter or not if OSX users had included carriage returns..

just a simple thought

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9383
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Function formula box size

Postby seb@plogue » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:51 pm

this is probably a very cheap way round, but couldn't you just parse out and ignore all the carriage returns on both OSs?


But what is the trigger from the user to say input is finished and the function should be evaluated?
Right now it's enter or loosing focus. Switching to a textbox would mean only having focus lost. Adding an apply
button would break the text parameter linking for functions.

CinningBao
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Capital City - UK
Contact:

Re: Function formula box size

Postby CinningBao » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:01 pm

I would go with losing focus - mind you, I'm going with the quick solution here... I can almost see losing focus working as a standard across the function boxes where the user becomes familiar with the idea that returns are simply for formatting.. almost..

jersmi
Posts: 3299
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:18 pm
Location: Oakland, California

Re: Function formula box size

Postby jersmi » Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:29 pm

What about alt-return for line break?

jersmi
Posts: 3299
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:18 pm
Location: Oakland, California

Re: Function formula box size

Postby jersmi » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:53 am

Maybe this takes this off topic, but it would also be awesome if the function bidule could support some logic gate functions and more outputs, for example, "x > y + z ? a : b | c".

dts350z
Posts: 1466
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Function formula box size

Postby dts350z » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:57 am

+1

I've been thinking of that for a while but didn't remember the c like syntax suggested and didn't know how to ask.

Great idea!!!


Return to “Bidule Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests