VS2013

Discussion about the Bidule SDK, post your questions, feature request and plugins here.

Moderators: davidv, seb@plogue

Breeze
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:34 pm

VS2013

Postby Breeze » Tue Mar 18, 2014 5:36 am

As it's the IDE most referenced, I tried to set up VS2010 Express to build the SDK, but no matter what I tried I just couldn't build the x64 version. I tried everything I could find about the compiler updates, SP1,the Windows 7.1 SDK, but nothing worked. I kept getting an error when compiling about a missing file called "". Typical useful MS error message... ;)

In frustration I installed VS 2013 Express and it was able to build both x86 and x64 versions as simply as seb suggested elsewhere on this forum: flipped the destination to x64 and done! I tested both versions as well as some mods in Bidule and so far they're fine.

I'm just wondering if there are any issues working with VS2013? Can I consider it safe to work with for Bidule plugins? Is there anything I should watch out for?

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: VS2013

Postby seb@plogue » Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:50 am

I don't see why it shouldn't work with VS2013. Rebuilding the project in 2013 should be fairly easy if it comes to that.

dts350z
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: VS2013

Postby dts350z » Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:43 am

Just FYI I've used 2008 and 2012. I'm using 2012 now because it integrates with Intel parallel studio XE 2013 (which I need for standalone versions of my stuff. I haven't used it for SDK plugins yet). 32 bit only.

@Breeze, if your going to distribute your plugins to others or to PCs where MS VS is not installed, you'll/they'll need the MS C++ runtime that matches the version of MS VS you used.

Also be aware that end users are likely to confuse SDK plugins with VSTPlugins so you need to provide an installer or instructions to make a \Plogue\Bidule\plugins folder and put the SDK plugin in there and NOT in \VSTPlugins.

Have fun!

Breeze
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: VS2013

Postby Breeze » Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:56 am

Thanks guys! dts350z, a timely observation because I was wondering what can be used to compile Bidule plugins so that they don't need the redistrubtables on Windows?

Boy, the low level stuff is so much easier with the SDK, but requires a little more thought... ;)

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: VS2013

Postby seb@plogue » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:21 am

Compile as Multithreaded and not Multithreaded DLL, you won't need to use the redistribuables.

I'm quite certain that the project file for the SDK predates us making that move so it probably still is Multithreaded DLL.

dts350z
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: VS2013

Postby dts350z » Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:48 pm

Any added incentive to update the SDK so it has discrete signals and other new capabilities (GUI types, etc.) would be great.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: VS2013

Postby seb@plogue » Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:23 pm

Someone to do all the different piles of work I have to do before even considering updating the SDK?

Breeze
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: VS2013

Postby Breeze » Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:51 pm

seb@plogue wrote:Compile as Multithreaded and not Multithreaded DLL, you won't need to use the redistributables.

I tried this and the plugin works, but of course I can't tell if it needs the redistributable or not unless I uninstall it, which in turn is playing Russian Roulette with the Visual Studio installation...

However the dll is now over 200 KB as a result compared to under 40 KB before. It would make sense that it's because it no longer needs the redistributable.


Return to “Bidule SDK”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest