ARIA's unimplemented SFZ 1.0 opcodes

Discussion on the SFZ implementation and opcodes available in the ARIA engine.

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

ARIA's unimplemented SFZ 1.0 opcodes

Postby davidv » Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:45 pm

ARIA is around 95% SFZ 1.0 compatible.
Here are details on the exceptions:

width and position
In our opinion this is implementation specific, and related to pan in balance mode.

sync_beats and sync_offset
(convoluted definition... ARIA uses SFZ 2.0's start_beat instead)

amp_velcurve_XXX
deprecated towards our use of amplitude_oncc131 and amplitude_curvecc131

Settings that are ARIA engine-level, and not instrument level:

output
lochan and hichan

effect1 and effect2
Im pretty sure those were meant to map to General MIDI 2's chorus and reverb.


preliminary information more details to come
David Viens,
Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.
http://www.plogue.com

marce
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:56 pm

Postby marce » Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:02 pm

What about "Cutoff" and "cutoff_CCn"? They are not working like they did in the old sfz player. How can i replace them?

Thanks!

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Postby davidv » Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:50 am

marce wrote:What about "Cutoff" and "cutoff_CCn"? They are not working like they did in the old sfz player. How can i replace them?

Thanks!


cutoff and cutoff_cc (or cutoff_oncc) should be working.
Do you have a specific example?
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com

marce
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:56 pm

Postby marce » Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:42 am

davidv wrote:
marce wrote:What about "Cutoff" and "cutoff_CCn"? They are not working like they did in the old sfz player. How can i replace them?

Thanks!


cutoff and cutoff_cc (or cutoff_oncc) should be working.
Do you have a specific example?


Hi David. This is an mp3 how it sound in ARIA and then in sfzplayer:

http://stashbox.org/617226/cutoff_CCn-Aria-%26-sfz.mp3

Appear to me that the cutoff filter is not applyed.

This is how the sfz file is structured:

Code: Select all

<region>
sample=SOFT LONG VIB 002.wav
lokey=f2
hikey=f2
lovel=1
loop_mode=no_loop
pitch_keycenter=f2
bend_up=700
bend_down=-700
volume=-14
amp_veltrack=37.300
gain_cc1=20
cutoff_cc1=9600


and similar for the rest of the notes

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Postby davidv » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:07 pm

Hi

You dont specify a base for your cutoff. If you do then it works.
Try this.

<region>
sample=SOFT LONG VIB 002.wav
cutoff=100
cutoff_cc1=9600

The SFZ spec specifies that if "cutoff" is not declared then the filter is OFF
(the default value is "filter disabled" and not 0)

ARIA implements the spec, it doesn't "emulate" SFZ player.
I suggest putting cutoff=0 if you want to emulate the SFZ player.
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com

marce
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:56 pm

Postby marce » Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:04 pm

Thanks your help David.

Well, my idea is not "emulate" sfz player, Just that is the only reference i have to compare with.
I will try your suggestion.
Thanks again!


Return to “SFZ Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest