Crossfading betwwen layers of dynamics

Discussion on the SFZ implementation and opcodes available in the ARIA engine.

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv

oGatoulas
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:31 am

Crossfading betwwen layers of dynamics

Postby oGatoulas » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:09 am

This subject got my interest lately and I begun to looking for information and I have been testing various configurations. My goal is to build an ensemble string patch with the dynamics controlled by the modwheel. So here is my progress so far!

First, I create groups of each layer of dynamics and have them triggered simultaneously.

Then I add amp_veltrack=0 in order for the velocity to not have any effect on the amplitude of the sample.


In order to morph between the layers with the modwheel I utilize the xfin & xfout opcodes and decide where I want the samples to blend. So in my case I have 3 layers and I want them to crossfade at 2 middle points.

For the low dynamics group:
xfout_locc1=30
xfout_hicc1=50


for the medium dynamics group:
xfin_locc1=30
xfin_hicc1=50
xfout_locc1=70
xfout_hicc1=90


and for the high dynamics group:
xfin_locc1=70
xfin_hicc1=90


Now I can play the patch and indeed have the sound morph from low to high dynamics with the modwheel. However, I also need the volume to change.

So I use the opcode amplitude_oncc1=100.

And when I hit save on the text sforzando crashes. :lol: I am not sure but it might have something to do with opcodes amplitude and xf sharing cc1 because when I disable one of them it works fine.

It also works if I assign different CCs to the opcodes, ex. CC1 for xf and CC2 for amplitude. Can I somehow bind the modwheel to 2 CCs.

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Crossfading betwwen layers of dynamics

Postby davidv » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:51 am

Hi

Could you make a minimal SFZ file that crashes and send it to us?

We are aware of the issue (there is actually a limit that makes it impossible to use xfin_xxcc and amplitude_oncc on the same cc)
However it should not crash but say "Internal XFIN_CC clash on:1" with something like this:

Code: Select all

<region>
sample=*sine

xfin_locc1=0
xfin_hicc1=127

amplitude_oncc1=100


Which version of sforzando have you got?
Cheers
David Viens,
Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.
http://www.plogue.com

oGatoulas
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:31 am

Re: Crossfading betwwen layers of dynamics

Postby oGatoulas » Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:26 pm

Hi david, thank you for your reply. Here is my file. I changed the extension into txt in order to upload it.

I use v1.911 64bit.

If I use different CCs, can I control them both from the modulation wheel somehow?
Attachments
test2.txt
(242 Bytes) Downloaded 11 times

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Crossfading betwwen layers of dynamics

Postby davidv » Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:19 pm

Ah sorry about this, seems like I've fixed this crash in 1.916
You can get the update of the ARIA engine itself (which will update the one in sforzando)
http://ariaengine.com/support/aria-engine-update/

Hum right now its not possible. You can experiment with volume_oncc1 combined with xfade though.
Just remember volume's maths are in dB and not linear.
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com

oGatoulas
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:31 am

Re: Crossfading betwwen layers of dynamics

Postby oGatoulas » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:19 am

Thank you very much for your suggestions! Right now, I am using "volume" in the regions to fine tune the samples. If I add volume_oncc1, will this mess up with the region specified volume values?

Is this amplitude_oncc with xfade bug, something that the developing team plans to fix anytime soon?

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Crossfading betwwen layers of dynamics

Postby davidv » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:00 am

oGatoulas wrote:Thank you very much for your suggestions! Right now, I am using "volume" in the regions to fine tune the samples. If I add volume_oncc1, will this mess up with the region specified volume values?


volume_onccX=Y adds (or removes) to volume=Z it in dB values.

oGatoulas wrote:Is this amplitude_oncc with xfade bug, something that the developing team plans to fix anytime soon?


Not anytime soon, but its on the list.
Kind regards.
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com


Return to “SFZ Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest