Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Post your chipsounds presets here

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv, seb@plogue

tommorow
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:59 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby tommorow » Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:04 am

hello.

I made a drum kit to share.

davidv had mentioned in my 4bit and dmc kit creation tutorial that he'd have liked to include more sample kits in chipsounds (but had left them out due to possible legal difficulties). It got me thinking. I'm pretty good at sound design. I should try to make one from scratch. so using some sounds I created in logic (mostly using pink noise and a resonant filter). I made a completely royalty free electro kit (inspired by the Kraftwerk and LFO records I was listening to a couple of hours ago).

this is a fairly beefy/techy set of drums. Have a listen:
http://www.foreveraway.com/Electro_DemoDMG.mp3

edit: added that's the dmg one here's a sample of the 4bit version...with more laser sounds.
http://www.foreveraway.com/Electro_Demo4bit.mp3


this zip contains all you need to get it running:
http://foreveraway.com/Electro_kit_update.zip


I've simplified the process of installing as much as possible.

1 place the folder called "electro_8bit" in the "data/user/samples folder" folder.

2 place the file called "Electro Kit.sfz" in the "programs/09. User folder" folder.

3 after saving a copy of your "chipsounds.bank.xml" to another place on your hardrive (restoring this file is sort of the equivalent of uninstalling these drums) copy my edited version into chipsounds' main application folder.

that should be it. then just fire up chipsounds. you will be able to select a 4bit or DMC version of the kit. They're the last items in the user section.

once again legal disclaimer...blah blah blah I cant be held responsible for loss or damages. I'm just some guy having fun.

feel free to use them in your projects/songs. I'd like a mention but it isn't necessary.

hope you like them.

I plan to do more homegrown stuff. hopefully venture into more sound creation as well as skinning. I'll post more when I figure it out.

edited for 1.5 update.
Last edited by tommorow on Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:26 pm, edited 5 times in total.
back underground

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby davidv » Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:31 am

Works perfectly here tommorow.

You won the first chipsounds DMC/4bit DAC hacker award!

(note there's an extra "J" character at the start of Electro Kit.sfz, you got lucky my SFZ parser didnt complain :)

cheers!
David Viens,
Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.
http://www.plogue.com

tommorow
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:59 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Postby tommorow » Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:27 am

that extra j is the reason why you shouldn't try to put one of these together after midnight. :) (They're gremlins, Kate. Just like Mr. Futterman said)

I'm guessing my laptop fell asleep. I alway hit a key to wake it...it usually doesn't register. got lost in the //

i replaced the file on my server with a j-less one.
back underground

wohali
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:29 pm

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby wohali » Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:07 pm

Nice kit!

If you're running 1.5, you'll not want to copy over his chipsounds.bank.xml file. Instead edit your shipped chipsounds.bank.xml file, scroll to the end of the "04 DRUMS" section, and add this text:

Code: Select all

   <AriaProgram id="406" name="04. Drums/Electro Kit DMC" category="console8" >   
      <AriaElement id="0" path="Programs/04. Drums/Electro Kit.sfz" >
          <Define name="$GENERATOR" value="*com.Plogue.DAC.6Bit.Linear.DPCM"/>
         <Define name="$CLOCK_REF" value="1789772.73"/>
          <Define name="$CLOCK_DIV" value="54"/>        <!-- "F" DMC clock ( 33143.94 Hz NTSC / 30789.02 Hz PAL) -->      
      </AriaElement>
   </AriaProgram>
   
   <AriaProgram id="407" name="04. Drums/Electro Kit 4Bit"   category="console8" >   
      <AriaElement id="0" path="Programs/04. Drums/Electro Kit.sfz" >
          <Define name="$GENERATOR" value="*com.Plogue.DAC.4Bit.Linear"/>
         <Define name="$CLOCK_REF" value="1022730"/>   
          <Define name="$CLOCK_DIV" value="32"/>       <!-- near 32Khz (sampled) -->               
      </AriaElement>
   </AriaProgram>


Then, edit the "Electro Kit.sfz" file and change the lines:

Code: Select all

$PRE
$POST


to

Code: Select all

#include "../pre.sfz"
#include "../post.sfz"


If you wanted to strictly segregate Plogue-provided content from User-provided content, change all of the "04. Drums" references above to "09. User" and place the paste in the commented "09 USER" section instead.

HTH,
Joan

tommorow
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:59 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby tommorow » Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:46 am

thanks,

I didn't realize there was a 1.5 !!! exciting.

Maybe I should make another file that segregates it to user and is correct for 1.5
back underground

tommorow
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:59 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby tommorow » Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:53 pm

updated the kit to 1.5 standards and It is now found in the user section.

I've, once again, included a zip with all the necessary coding done.


http://foreveraway.com/Electro_kit_update.zip



you add the folder called "electro_8bit" into the data/user/samples folder

and add the "electro kit.sfz" to the programs/09. User folder

move your chipsounds.bank.xml to a safe place on your hard drive (to keep it safe in case of problems or you no longer want the kit) and add the one provided to your main chipsounds folder.

edited my first post to contain this information

also thanks wohali for the bit about the #includes.
back underground

firebrandmu
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:16 pm

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby firebrandmu » Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:48 pm

Would a group admin please make me a member please? Thanks!

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby seb@plogue » Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:51 pm

You need to fill in your share-it order number in your profile as described in the post about the group in the general sub-forum.

Groove Q
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:17 pm

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby Groove Q » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:30 pm

Download links are dead? Apparently I'm 'VIP' but i'm not finding much in the threads here...

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Homegrown Electro DMC and 4 bit kits.

Postby davidv » Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:36 am

Groove Q wrote:Download links are dead? Apparently I'm 'VIP' but I'm not finding much in the threads here...


The VIP stuff is pretty much an old idea and theres not been new stuff there for a while.
the idea was to have the extra stuff only for legit customers. I thought I would have time to fill this with new presets all the time, but since I have 4 lifetimes of workload ahead (including chipsounds 2.0 and 3 other new products :) This got sidetracked.

The other main issue is that both the UI and bank formats have evolved over the years so it didnt make sense to make sure the few custom mods were still compatible, hence most got removed.
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com


Return to “chipsounds Presets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest