Page 1 of 1

Program changes

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:08 am
by jomtones
I want to use chipsounds for live stuff but it's useless to my setup if I can't change sounds on the fly. :cry:

Is it possible to add a setting so MIDI 'program changes' change 'snapshots'? Or some other method so I can change presets on the fly from Ableton.

Many thanks for your consideration. :D

Re: Program changes

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:50 am
by davidv
Program changes are already associated with Key Switches, which changes waveforms on a chip.

Re: Program changes

Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:59 am
by jomtones
I know. What I mean is - can you add a switch so they actually change the whole snapshot? This would be so much more useful for live musicians - I can't be fooling around onstage with a mouse changing presets.

Thanks

Re: Program changes

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:40 am
by davidv
jomtones wrote:I know. What I mean is - can you add a switch so they actually change the whole snapshot? This would be so much more useful for live musicians - I can't be fooling around onstage with a mouse changing presets.

Thanks


Program Changes as per MIDI spec needs to be instantaneous, and loading a program is an asynchronous process. sadly no can do.

Re: Program changes

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:00 am
by jomtones
Damn, not sure I follow that. Wouldn't matter to my setup as when I load a scene to set up a new track it always takes a second or two for things to settle (loads of Max for Live patches sorting themselves out).

Sure is a shame, be great to integrate chipsounds into our set :/

Video demos here by the way - www.psykers.com

Re: Program changes

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:44 am
by davidv
jomtones wrote:Damn, not sure I follow that. Wouldn't matter to my setup as when I load a scene to set up a new track it always takes a second or two for things to settle (loads of Max for Live patches sorting themselves out).

Sure is a shame, be great to integrate chipsounds into our set :/

Video demos here by the way - http://www.psykers.com


Program changes need to be instantaneous since they are running in a real time MIDI/Audio thread.
If i tie that to something that takes a while (like loading/unloading/allocating sounds), then it creates a situation that is not welcome in VST/AU hosts.

Sure i could send a message to another thread to do the work, but then it breaks the MIDI pipeline. Sorry its hard to explain it better.

Re: Program changes

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:06 am
by jomtones
Ah, too bad. I guess one way round would be to do like e.g. NI Massive - have a separate section for your program change bit, say 16 patches that load into memory. Big job though, I know. Guess I'll have to content myself with the Xenos 8-bit patches for Massive for now ... or I might try sampling Chipsounds. Seem to remember there was a pretty cool sampler for ripping VST patches knocking about ;)

Re: Program changes

Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 10:39 am
by drmq
Hi David,
Any progress on this one? Native Instruments Massive and Reaktor allow program changes and this is a killer feature for those using synths live. I know it's a bit tricky but it shouldn't be that difficult. I mean NI is doing it! I've heard that an option would be to read the disk xml in a separate thread and only load from memory from the audio/midi thread. In any case, I (and I think most of us) wouldn't mind having chipsounds off for a few milliseconds while the preset is loading.
That said, I'd like to add that I wouldn't mind to pay a small amount to support your work on this (I already own a license), via crowd funding or whatever.
All the best,
mq

davidv wrote:
jomtones wrote:Damn, not sure I follow that. Wouldn't matter to my setup as when I load a scene to set up a new track it always takes a second or two for things to settle (loads of Max for Live patches sorting themselves out).

Sure is a shame, be great to integrate chipsounds into our set :/

Video demos here by the way - http://www.psykers.com


Program changes need to be instantaneous since they are running in a real time MIDI/Audio thread.
If i tie that to something that takes a while (like loading/unloading/allocating sounds), then it creates a situation that is not welcome in VST/AU hosts.

Sure i could send a message to another thread to do the work, but then it breaks the MIDI pipeline. Sorry its hard to explain it better.

Re: Program changes

Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 12:04 pm
by davidv
drmq wrote:Hi David,
Any progress on this one? Native Instruments Massive and Reaktor allow program changes and this is a killer feature for those using synths live. I know it's a bit tricky but it shouldn't be that difficult. I mean NI is doing it!


Well, different budgets I presume :)

drmq wrote:I've heard that an option would be to read the disk xml in a separate thread and only load from memory from the audio/midi thread. In any case, I (and I think most of us) wouldn't mind having chipsounds off for a few milliseconds while the preset is loading.
That said, I'd like to add that I wouldn't mind to pay a small amount to support your work on this (I already own a license), via crowd funding or whatever.
All the best, mq


If I do this it will be for chipsounds 2.0 which will come after at least another product I'm working on now.
Cheers

Re: Program changes

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:57 am
by drmq
Still waiting... :( Even Serum, new in the synth arena, has some support for Program Changes... If you only knew how critical is this feature for some of us...

Re: Program changes

Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:16 pm
by davidv
chipsounds 1.x is not getting new feature updates, only bug fixes.
chipsounds 2.0 is going to be very different, and we want to concentrate on it.

List your requests!

Re: Program changes

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:00 am
by drmq
Bump 2 years later... Any chances to see basic program changes implemented? Maybe with an extra fee? You don't know how much I am missing them!

davidv wrote:chipsounds 1.x is not getting new feature updates, only bug fixes.
chipsounds 2.0 is going to be very different, and we want to concentrate on it.

List your requests!

Re: Program changes

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:36 am
by davidv
again chipsounds has program changes tied to key switches and it will not chance.

The chipsynths (which are many plugins instead of chipsounds 2.0) should have a program change lists.