Default/Initial preset for VST version? (OS X)

Post your bug reports/problems here

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv, seb@plogue

saskrotch
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:30 am

Default/Initial preset for VST version? (OS X)

Postby saskrotch » Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:58 pm

Okay, so first off, I'm kind of a dick on the internet, SO, if this is something I should've found with a simple search, feel free to tear me a new one (as long as you also tell me what I SHOULD'VE searched, or give me the answer, or whatever)

So I've been using chipsounds for a few years. I recently had to reinstall OSX, along with all my music programs, on my computer. Same OS version, same chipsounds version, slightly newer version of ableton (I think I went from 9.1 to 9.1.2). I might have figured this out originally, but it would've been years ago.

When I load the standalone version, it lets me easily save the default preset I want, which is just a completely empty chipsounds. In ableton, every time I load it up, it starts me off with the SN74ETC square wave, and a 10% reverb send. I rarely use the SN chip, and never use reverb, and I'm getting tired of having to change it every time I load it up (because I'm at the point where I use chipsounds for probably 75% or more of each song).

Stuff I've tried that hasn't worked:
Set it to empty, save snapshot as default (no reason to think this would've worked)
Using the AU version instead of the VST
Taken the default.ariax file from the standalone folder and dropped it into
user/library/application support/plogue/aria/presets/com.plouge.aria/


I'm running
OS X 10.6.8
Ableton Live 9.1.2
Chipsounds 1.669

Of course this isn't keeping me from writing, or crashing or anything, it's just kind of annoying to fix every time I open it up. Thanks for any help!

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Default/Initial preset for VST version? (OS X)

Postby davidv » Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:24 am

Hi

Its not you, I don't recall this question being specifically answered before.

The trick is the other way around. can you try
You need to wipe both default.aria and default.ariax (both can exist) from

/Library/Application Support/Plogue/chipsounds/default.aria
/Library/Application Support/Plogue/chipsounds/default.ariax

and copy this
/Users/{YOU}//Library/Application Support/Plogue/chipsounds/default.aria
into
/Library/Application Support/Plogue/chipsounds
David Viens,
Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.
http://www.plogue.com

saskrotch
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:30 am

Re: Default/Initial preset for VST version? (OS X)

Postby saskrotch » Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:51 am

Okay, I forgot to reply, tried this out a while ago:

1) At /Library/Application Support/Plogue/, there was no chipsounds folder just Aria.
2) At /Users/{ME}//Library/Application Support/, there were two folders, "Plogue" and "Plogue Art et Technologie, Inc"

I created a folder called chipsounds to the first address and moved

Plogue/Aria/Presets/com.Plogue.Aria/default.ariax and Plogue Art et Technologie, Inc/chipsounds/default.aria into it, but it still loads the same PSG square wave with 10% reverb.

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Default/Initial preset for VST version? (OS X)

Postby davidv » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:16 am

Please reinstall and try my method
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com

saskrotch
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:30 am

Re: Default/Initial preset for VST version? (OS X)

Postby saskrotch » Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:27 pm

I did, nothing changed.

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Default/Initial preset for VST version? (OS X)

Postby davidv » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:32 am

saskrotch wrote:I did, nothing changed.


Could you run these steps and email us the tar.gz file?
We will check what is going on

http://www.ariaengine.com/faq/index.php ... artlang=en
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com


Return to “chipsounds Bugs and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest