GUID(s) for Aria VST

Post your ARIA Engine questions here

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv

Derrek
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:49 am

GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby Derrek » Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:02 pm

To whitelist the Aria player (64-bit) in Dorico, one needs the GUID of the player. Can you provide this?

(Am I correct in assuming Aria 64-bit is VST2?)

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby seb@plogue » Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:18 am

VST2 doesn't have a GUID but a short "unique ID", the GUID is generated by the hosting/audio engine that is supposed to be the same as Cubase/Nuendo.

Looking at:
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support/knowledgebase_new/show_details/kb_show/how-to-use-vst2-plug-ins-in-dorico.html

and checking the same files+location with Cubase 8.5, I get

stereo version:
565354474152416172696120706C6179

multiple outputs version:
565354474152616172696120706C6179

If the GUIDs are generated differently then I don't know what they are.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby seb@plogue » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:38 pm

[edited to fix the typo and to show as correct answer/what to use]
Actually this is what should go into the vst2whitelist.txt file on OS X:
(the name needs to match the .vst filename, this wasn't clear...)

ARIA Player VST
565354474152416172696120706C6179
ARIA Player VST Multi
565354474152616172696120706C6179

On Windows this translate to:

ARIA Player VST_x64
565354474152416172696120706C6179
ARIA Player Multi VST_x64
565354474152616172696120706C6179

Derrek
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:49 am

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby Derrek » Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:49 pm

Thank you. Please let us know if you have an update on the Windows info.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby seb@plogue » Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:54 am

Update on Windows using the 4 lines I provided, it seems that only the stereo version shows up in Dorico.
I need to investigate more.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby seb@plogue » Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:34 am

ok my bad, I didn't input the multi out name correctly on Windows.

So for Windows, you need to add the following to the vst2whitelist file:

ARIA Player VST_x64
565354474152416172696120706C6179
ARIA Player Multi VST_x64
565354474152616172696120706C6179


You'll need to make sure that the Aria Player x64 VST dlls are in a folder where Dorico looks for plugins

DonMusic
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 4:41 pm

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby DonMusic » Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:36 am

Hi,

sorry for the double-post, but it just occurred to me that ths might be faster than actually starting a new topic elsewhere (which I have done, you may delete the other one if you think that's suitable).

Can you post the (Mac) GUIDs for sforzando as well, for the same reasons?

Credo
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:56 am

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby Credo » Thu Nov 03, 2016 3:20 am

DonMusic wrote:Hi,

sorry for the double-post, but it just occurred to me that ths might be faster than actually starting a new topic elsewhere (which I have done, you may delete the other one if you think that's suitable).

Can you post the (Mac) GUIDs for sforzando as well, for the same reasons?


Thanks for the ARIA Listings. They are working pretty well here so far.

Could we get them for Bidule as well?
I took a look at the "Default.xml" mentioned on the Steinberg site...I've got so many plugins listed I've no idea which ones might be for Bidule.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby seb@plogue » Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:42 am

OS X:

PlogueBiduleVST
565354504C4749706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVSTi
565354504C474C706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVSTi_16
565354504C474D706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVST_16
565354504C474A706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVST_32
565354504C474B706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVSTi_32
565354504C474E706C6F677565626964

Windows:

PlogueBiduleVST_x64
565354504C4749706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVSTi_x64
565354504C474C706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVSTi_x64_16
565354504C474D706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVST_x64_16
565354504C474A706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVST_x64_32
565354504C474B706C6F677565626964

PlogueBiduleVSTi_x64_32
565354504C474E706C6F677565626964

Credo
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:56 am

Re: GUID(s) for Aria VST

Postby Credo » Fri Nov 04, 2016 3:56 am

Many thanks!

I ran a few quick tests with all the Bidule VST and VSTi plugins and they seem to work as they should. It's saving me a bunch of trouble since I no longer need to try to finding and whitelisting other VST2 plugins of interest, and it's also letting me use my outboard gear (with sound card in mixed-monitor mode) :)


Return to “ARIA Engine”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest