Vocal line rendering via command line.

General discussion about chipspeech

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv, seb@plogue

jbum

Vocal line rendering via command line.

Postby jbum » Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:59 pm

First of all, I'm LOVING chipspeech. I can imagine using it for all kinds of projects. I have two questions.

Question 1)

I have a question about automation. I'm an experienced programmer & experimental composer. I have a project in which I am producing choral music by mixing together individual vocal lines using a variety of voices with different settings (similar to the "stack" in chipspeech, but trying to get more variety, and producing 4 SATB choral sections). The music is produced algorithmically (based on a 1650 music algorithm by Athanasius Kircher, the Arca Musarithmica) using scripts, and I can prepare exactly the phonemes I want for each note, as well as produce (via scripts) MIDI files to control the plugin. Given those pieces of input -- I would love to be able automate the rest of it via the command line, since individually rendering 20-30 voices with randomized settings is tedious (especially because my algorithm is capable of producing a LOT of output, and I tend to do a lot of tests where I am changing lots of parameters).

My goal would be to construct a command tool something like this:

$ renderVocalLine notes.mid lyrics.txt [optional settings here] -o sample.wav

I would then run this 30 times and mix the results together, also via the command line.

I was curious if anyone had any ideas about technologies I might use to accomplish this. I can imagine maybe setting this up via Apple script, but if there is a command-line scriptable plug-in host that can do rendering of MIDI, that would be better...

Question 2)

Is there a way to directly input X-Sampa lines via MIDI of some other form of automation? The texts for this music are in latin and would be easier if I can provide entire lines...

Hubert