0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

General Discussion about Plogue Bidule

Moderators: vincent@plogue, davidv, seb@plogue

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby seb@plogue » Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:51 pm

I've added a way to override some preferences per instance (i.e. a given copy of the .exe/.app for Bidule).

OS X:
This is done through a plist file that is located alongside the application bundle and named like it
(i.e. Plogue Bidule.plist in the same folder as Plogue Bidule)
You will need to add keys of a specific type.

Windows:
This is done through a .ini file having the same name of the .exe and in the same directory, the expected format
is (one per line)
KEYNAME=VALUE

Keys:

ReWireModeCheck (as an integer or boolean on OS X, an integer on Windows)
The default is 1/true, if this is set to 0 this will never check if it's running under ReWire, usually
useful for people wishing to have one instance running in ReWire mode and other instances as standalone

SampleRate (as an integer)
BufferSize (as an integer)
FFTSize (as an integer)
FFTOverlap (as an integer)
Using these you can have an instance running at different DSP settings than the one stored in the preferences

OSCServerPort (as an integer)
Each instance can use a different port for incoming OSC messages

DefaultLayout (as a string)
The absolute path to the default layout used by this instance

CreateVirtualMIDIPorts (OS X only, as a boolean)
Create virtual MIDI ports or not per instance

VirtualMIDIPortName (OS X only, as a string)
Prefix that will be used to name the virtual MIDI ports for this instance

Some older hidden options:

Plugin mode : added possibility to have a different window size through config

OS X:

open a Terminal window:
defaults write com.plogue.bidule MainWindow.pluginModeWidth -int <desired width>
defaults write com.plogue.bidule MainWindow.pluginModeHeight -int <desired height>to remove values:
defaults delete com.plogue.bidule MainWindow.pluginModeWidth
defaults delete com.plogue.bidule MainWindow.pluginModeHeight

Windows :

under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\PlogueBidule
add DWORD values named MainWindow.pluginModeHeight and MainWindow.pluginModeWidth
set to desired values
remove values to get back to default (or set to 800x600)


Presets : added possibility to change scaling
(to have the more natural integer scaling as seen with Variable Int)

OS X:

open a Terminal window:
(to enable)
defaults write com.plogue.bidule Parameter.presetUsesIntegerScaling -int 1(to disable)
defaults write com.plogue.bidule Parameter.presetUsesIntegerScaling -int 0


Windows :

under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\PlogueBidule
add a DWORD value named Parameter.presetUsesIntegerScaling
set to 1 to have presets behave with integer scaling
set to 0 for default behaviour



Step Sequencer : added possibility to turn off cursor

OS X:

open a Terminal window:
(to disable cursor)
defaults write com.plogue.bidule StepSequencer.showCursor -int 0
(to enable cursor)
defaults write com.plogue.bidule StepSequencer.showCursor -int 1


Windows :

under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\PlogueBidule
add a DWORD value named StepSequencer.showCursor
set to 0 to not see the step sequencer cursor
set to 1 for default behaviour

[new in 0.9724]
Switch mutation behaviour to use the parameter range instead of the current value
int (on OS X), DWORD on Windows
Parameter.useMutateOverRange
1 to enable, 0 to to get default/old behaviour

reezekeys
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:06 pm
Location: New York

Re: 0.9719 overrides per instance

Postby reezekeys » Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:36 pm

I'm having trouble making this work, appreciate any help...

I opened the .plist file from the app bundle in an editor called "PlistEdit Pro" (OSX). This is what I saw:

Image

I clicked on "New Child", then added the line which is highlighted:

Image

I then saved the .plist back into the app bundle. When I run PLB the sample rate remains 44.1K, which is what it was set at previously. I see this previous value in the com.plogue.bidule.plist file in ~/Library/Preferences. What's interesting is that, in that file it's called "DSP.sampleRate", not "SampleRate."

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: 0.9719 overrides per instance

Postby seb@plogue » Sat Dec 17, 2011 6:17 pm

Did you add the "," by yourself or did PlistEdit Pro did that? Have you tried 96000 directly?
You should also check the bidule.log file, IIRC if the an override key is found it's written in there although I'm not sure the read value is automatically logged or not...

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: 0.9719 overrides per instance

Postby seb@plogue » Sat Dec 17, 2011 6:35 pm

Using the built-in plist editor from the dev tools:

If I type 96000, this is what I get in the bidule.log:

I:0x 2:2894746304:4522223734:instance override sample rate : 96000
I:0x 2:2894746304:4522223857:DSPInfo ctor
I:0x 2:2894746304:4522223866:Using SampleRate: 96000
I:0x 2:2894746304:4522223879:Using BufferSize: 256
I:0x 2:2894746304:4522223885:Using FFTSize: 512
I:0x 2:2894746304:4522223891:Using FFTOverlap: 2

If I attempt to type 96,000 this automatically become 96 (that could be because of my Formats settings)
and in the bidule.log:

I:0x 2:2894746304:4640229658:instance override sample rate : 96
I:0x 2:2894746304:4640229758:DSPInfo ctor
I:0x 2:2894746304:4640229767:Using SampleRate: 44100
I:0x 2:2894746304:4640229779:Using BufferSize: 256
I:0x 2:2894746304:4640229786:Using FFTSize: 512
I:0x 2:2894746304:4640229792:Using FFTOverlap: 2

reezekeys
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:06 pm
Location: New York

Re: 0.9719 overrides per instance

Postby reezekeys » Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:20 am

seb@plogue wrote:Did you add the "," by yourself or did PlistEdit Pro did that? Have you tried 96000 directly?

I typed 96000, PlistEdit Pro added the comma. Not sure what you mean by trying 96000 "directly."

I'll check the log files when I get my computer back from my 11-yr-old daughter. :)

It makes no sense that the program would actually put the comma in there, except for display purposes.

reezekeys
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:06 pm
Location: New York

Re: 0.9719 overrides per instance

Postby reezekeys » Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:47 am

Now I'm thinking this should be in "Bugs & Problems" but I don't want to break the thread continuity.

The log file says I'm at 96K, but Bidule is still running at 44.1.

I:0x 102:2687816960:54783806992:instance override sample rate : 96000
I:0x 102:2687816960:54783807096:DSPInfo ctor
I:0x 102:2687816960:54783807111:Using SampleRate: 96000
I:0x 102:2687816960:54783807130:Using BufferSize: 128
I:0x 102:2687816960:54783807140:Using FFTSize: 512
I:0x 102:2687816960:54783807149:Using FFTOverlap: 2

Image

OSX 10.6.4 on a MacBook Pro

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: 0.9719 overrides per instance

Postby seb@plogue » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:09 pm

No that is working as expected, the values in preferences are the one saved in the .plist file in ~/Library/Preferences, the point of the override values is to bypass them, not change them. If you add a Constant in your layout and set it to Sample Rate you will see 96k.

reezekeys
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:06 pm
Location: New York

Re: 0.9719 overrides per instance

Postby reezekeys » Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:28 pm

OK, now I get it!!

I would feel free to delete all the messages in this thread, below your initial one :)

CinningBao
Posts: 573
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Capital City - UK
Contact:

Re: 0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby CinningBao » Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:16 pm

This is doing my head in - Bidule keep opening in ReWire mode and I can't stop it.

I have a file called "Plogue Bidule.plist" in the Plogue folder whose contents are

ReWireModeCheck=0

I assume 0 will force Bidule to _not_ open in ReWire mode?
Is the format wrong?

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: 0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby seb@plogue » Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:31 am

The plist format is XML style, not text. This should work:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>ReWireModeCheck</key>
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>

Otherwise, your best bet would be to start from an existing plist and use a plist editor.

If Bidule is stuck in starting in ReWire mode, you can clear it with the Clear ReWire mode
status menu entry under Edit, if it's because you are always running another application that
opens all ReWire devices then, yes, the plist is pretty much the only way to prevent it.

CinningBao
Posts: 573
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:13 am
Location: Capital City - UK
Contact:

Re: 0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby CinningBao » Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:34 am

That's the ticket (the Edit menu entry) - thanks Seb.

It's funny, I'm sure I vi'd a plist file previously to get the alternative mutation behaviour, and it was fine. I must be misremembering!

arminmetz
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:58 am

Re: 0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby arminmetz » Sun Nov 09, 2014 9:21 am

I´ve got the problem that when I load a project in my DAW that contains serveral Bidule VST plugins with originally each a different OSC server port, they are all loaded with the same port. So is there a way to define that in a similar way as discribed above but fpr VST?
Another possibility would be to have a Bidule module that modifies the OSC server port number when triggered..

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: 0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby seb@plogue » Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:48 am

I´ve got the problem that when I load a project in my DAW that contains serveral Bidule VST plugins with originally each a different OSC server port, they are all loaded with the same port. So is there a way to define that in a similar way as discribed above but fpr VST?


There's only one config entry for the port number when running as a plugin, what you did would only work in that way.

Furthermore, there's only one OSC Server per "dll" when Bidule is loaded as a plugin
i.e. if you have multiple instances of PlogueBiduleVST.dll loaded, there's only 1 OSC server (the addresses will be prevented to clash between instances),
if you have VST_16 and VST_32 you will get 2, on OS X it's the same for the VSTs but the AUs are behaving differently because they
are all in the same "dll" so you have only 1 OSC server running. The solution would be to modify things so that the plugins are thin
wrapper around a single dll with everyone connected to that (a bit like ARIA is), however that's a big heap of changes for
something that was not started like that.

arminmetz
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:58 am

Re: 0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby arminmetz » Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:08 am

seb@plogue wrote:
(the addresses will be prevented to clash between instances)

does that mean that only identical addresses are prevented to clash but different addresses are received by 2 plugins having the same port? That would solve the problem.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9593
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: 0.9724 overrides per instance/hidden preferences

Postby seb@plogue » Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:16 am

does that mean that only identical addresses are prevented to clash but different addresses are received by 2 plugins having the same port? That would solve the problem.


If you have something named Mixer in both instances, one will be available as /Mixer while the other will be /Mixer_1.
However, there's currently no way to see which one is the _1.


Return to “Bidule General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests