Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Post your groups/layouts here

Moderators: davidv, seb@plogue

NTO
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:54 am

Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby NTO » Sun Apr 02, 2017 2:52 pm

It seems to me this ought to be a very simple thing. My headache says otherwise :o :cry:

We have a constant for the number of files in the media pool.
I have the means to generate a trigger to the accum when a file plays.
I can test the value of the accum against the constant.

What I can't find is a way to send an integer between 1 and the constant, output from the accum, to the file player's file selector.

I do not want to have to manually enter the number of files in the media pool (so far seems all modulators require I do)

My simplified test bed
2017-04-02_Bidule_FileSelectFromPool.png
2017-04-02_Bidule_FileSelectFromPool.png (53.88 KiB) Viewed 1721 times

dts350z
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby dts350z » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:58 pm

What if you made n number of presets for an absolute parameter modulator, where n= the number of files in the midi player. Then for preset n the max value would be n, and the min value would be 1. Then you could link the preset number to the constant value.

Like this:

PM (Absolute)
preset # min max
1 1 1
2 1 2
3 1 3
etc.

Hopefully you would know the max number of files you would every have so you could make that many presets.

That's assuming the first file is file 1 (vs. file 0).

NTO
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby NTO » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:07 pm

Thanks, but I'm trying to create a group that can play all the media w/o having to enter the amount of media - because the constant has the count.
EDIT: In example, I think of an integer variable that could take its value from a sample input (from the accum) rather than the UI slider. That could be linked to the player's file param...

dts350z
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby dts350z » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:21 pm

Hmmm,

I don't see the Parameter Modulator preset change when the constant value changes.

Bug?

It changes when when I change the link source to an integer variable value.

dts350z
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby dts350z » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:23 pm

You don't have to enter a value, you just have to make enough presets to cover the max number of files you think you would ever have.

That was the idea anyway. See my post about the constant value linked to PM preset number not working.

NTO
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby NTO » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:26 pm

dts350z wrote:You don't have to enter a value[snip]


I have to enter a value for every preset I might ever use!
I saw your potential bug note.

EDIT: The file count is not the problem. Linking the next position to the player is the problem. I know how many there are (constant). I know how many I've played (accum).
Last edited by NTO on Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dts350z
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby dts350z » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:29 pm

Yup.

Did say it was was an amazing solution. Should have worked though.

I'll post it as a but.

PM min/max values should be parameters too, that would be the "amazing" solution, but that's a FR.

jersmi
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:18 pm
Location: Oakland, California

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby jersmi » Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:07 am

Why not use the Mediapool constant to normalize the accum output, then set the Param Mod to min=0, max=1?

NTO
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby NTO » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:49 am

...because such a use of 'normalize ' would never occur to me :shock: :oops: :!:

BUT BY GOOGLE :)

Now I know, and that seems what I was looking for.

Thank you for a 'how to fish' lesson. :mrgreen:

EDIT:
For reference, what I have to start
2017-04-03_BiduleMediaPoolSelect.png
2017-04-03_BiduleMediaPoolSelect.png (15.05 KiB) Viewed 1689 times


FileSelectByNorm is linked to FilePlayer[File]
Accum is set to 'Loop values between Low/High' checked

NTO
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby NTO » Tue Apr 04, 2017 9:16 am

I had seen the play all request several time while searching, but never did see if someone posted a means, so here is mine! :roll:

It should work fine for the audio player, though I haven't tested that. I use it like this:
2017-04-04_Bidule_PlayAllApp.png
2017-04-04_Bidule_PlayAllApp.png (20.84 KiB) Viewed 1664 times


The GUI has just a reset accums to start position button. The links should be obvious in the param panel, here's a recent example:
2017-04-04_BidulePlayAllAppLinks.png
2017-04-04_BidulePlayAllAppLinks.png (11.02 KiB) Viewed 1664 times


I use it like this:
Load up the media pool.
Hook a constant, w/ 'Mediapool number of <type> files' selected, to the input pin of the group.
Check 'Reset position to 0 after reaching end of file' on the player.
Set the recorder path and check 'Create new file for each record' on it.
(Note the link from play to recording above)
Press the play button. It will stop after the last media pool item.
(There is no 'abort', but the accum reset can stop it - might take a couple tries)

NOTE: I am still a noob to Bidule, so elegance is not implied. :) Please post improvements to this thread.
NTO_PoolPlayAll.bgrp
(26.36 KiB) Downloaded 26 times

jersmi
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:18 pm
Location: Oakland, California

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby jersmi » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:35 pm

What brings you to Bidule, NTO? You clearly know your way around the basic concepts.

NTO
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby NTO » Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:51 am

jersmi,
Thanks for the kind words. You give me more credence than I deserve, but I will wear it around the house! :lol:

I'm a retired techie who makes 'music' for my own entertainment. I have no training as a musician, and little skill as a performer; so I manipulate midi for my creations.
EDIT: I think I recently discovered Bidule by association w/sforzando, anyway I like how it lets me get 'under the covers' with less aggravation than other programming languages.

jersmi
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:18 pm
Location: Oakland, California

Re: Play all media pool w/o manual entry

Postby jersmi » Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:44 pm

Awesome! :D


Return to “Bidule Layouts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests