Tap Tempo Revisited

Post your groups/layouts here

Moderators: davidv, seb@plogue

temiqui
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:57 pm
Location: lyons co

Tap Tempo Revisited

Postby temiqui » Mon Mar 14, 2005 5:33 pm

I really like the way the K2500 does tap tempo. It averages taps, and after the 4th tap, it starts putting out a tempo, which it continues to average as long as you keep tapping. I wouldn't mind putting out a tempo right away, but I like the idea of continuing to average it over time.

It must make an arbitrary decision to stop looking for new taps, in order that the next time you set a tempo, it's not still averaging, setting the tempo to .0000004 or something!

So I guess it would need to listen to a tap, start a counter, and each time it sees another tap, divide the value by the number of taps since the counter started and use that to determine a tempo. Then, if it doesn't see a tap for, say, 5 seconds (even I don't play that slow) reset the counter to wait for more taps.

Do you think this could be implemented in bidule? What would the signal chain need to look like?

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9592
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Postby seb@plogue » Mon Mar 14, 2005 6:24 pm

Do you think this could be implemented in bidule?


I'm pretty sure it's possible, if not it shouldn't be missing much.

What would the signal chain need to look like?


I'll need a good night's sleep and tomorrow's morning coffee to come
up with the specifics but it would most likely involve MIDI Activity, MIDI Time Delta, Accums and Logic Gates.

temiqui
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:57 pm
Location: lyons co

Postby temiqui » Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:18 pm

Well, sweet dreams then!

e

BiCho
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Postby BiCho » Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:40 pm

Actually whan I used the tap tempo I thought about that but I couldn't put it in words :?

So, thank you, since this group will sure help us all!
audiotecna.info - Innovación Musical
Ortofon DJ, Native Instruments and Moog Music distributor for Colombia

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9592
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Postby seb@plogue » Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:43 am

OK, made that one quickly so it might not be perfect put should be easy
to fix if needed.

http://www.plogue.com/seb/taptempo3.bidule

conny
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Postby conny » Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:45 pm

Think we should let seb sleep for awile...

The layout above has a strange behaviour: Just loaded it and the CPU goes up all the time. Tried to mute the modules one by one but nothing changed, only switching to "off" for the whole layout reset the CPU usage.

// C

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9592
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Postby seb@plogue » Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:50 pm

oh... I see, it seems to happen only if you "do nothing".

I'll check what i can do

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9592
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Postby seb@plogue » Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:00 pm

ok, i updated the layout, same link

http://www.plogue.com/seb/taptempo3.bidule

numer9
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:17 pm

Postby numer9 » Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:38 pm

this was my way of doing it.
I needed a tap to sync bidule, where the new tempo is set after only two taps. After not tapping for a certain amount of time I did not want the tempo to go down at very low speed so I use the tempo from the same amount of time ago via a delay line.

http://matthias.loibner.net/files/tap2sync.bidule

number9

numer9
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:17 pm

Postby numer9 » Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:53 pm

slightly better:
http://matthias.loibner.net/files/tap2sync2.bidule

this remembers always the last tempo before the current. If time goes too slow it uses the old time.

numbe9r

numer9
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:17 pm

Postby numer9 » Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:18 am

just to complete:

same as group:
http://matthias.loibner.net/files/tap2sync.bgrp

number9

temiqui
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:57 pm
Location: lyons co

Postby temiqui » Fri Mar 25, 2005 1:45 pm

Hey thanks all!

Can't wait to try these out....

e

BiCho
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 12:45 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

niice

Postby BiCho » Sat Mar 26, 2005 3:48 pm

works fine this new tap tempo.

thanks for sharing your knowledge. I even managed to send the clock back to my FilterFactoty, and I have a light which blinks to the beat (hope you could build that using bidule...)

Bidule becomes each time more useful in a live situation. much more than any sequencer or daw, and even more than a standalone sequencer or multieffects rack.

thanks!
audiotecna.info - Innovación Musical
Ortofon DJ, Native Instruments and Moog Music distributor for Colombia

temiqui
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:57 pm
Location: lyons co

Postby temiqui » Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:55 pm

Got the new tap tempo working, thanks Seb, it rocks!

e

xtz.V2
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:38 am

Postby xtz.V2 » Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:23 am

not exactly sure how this works.

Can you actually tap in a BPM tempo w/ your mouse or a MIDI controller?

:roll:


Return to “Bidule Layouts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest